Breeder

It has been a while since my last posting, but here I am ready to rant some more. I am a member of various discussion groups, and a while ago the discussion got around to homosexual characters in writing, and how best to portray them. Well, during the discussion the terms “gay”, “straight”, “breeder” and “fag” were bounced around. Now, Fag is a silly-assed thing to call somebody when you consider that its original meaning was ‘burning stick’ or ‘torch’, though now Brits apply it to cigarettes. Sounds like it would be better applied to somebody with an STD, if you ask me. Now, the term ‘Breeder’ sounds better to me than ‘Straight’, to be honest. A breeder is a person or animal that procreates…no duh. But ‘straight’ implies that a person is honest, upright and/or heterosexual. I’ll take Breeder, thank you very much. I know a lot of ‘straight’ people who are crooks and liars. There is also the secondary implication that a person who isn’t straight must be in some way bent, so a gay man must be in some way crooked or twisted. Well, the majority of gay persons I have known were good, honest people and perfectly straight in every way that matters. I am not curious or interested in knowing what they do with whom anymore than I am curious what my breeder friends do with their wives, and I assure you, I don’t want those details either!

Not exactly a rant, just a point of view.

Tags:

2 Responses to “Breeder”

  1. Mudepoz Says:

    Labels? I’m a breeder, in that I breed dogs to make healthy, quality pets.

    I’ve been married for 23 years, without the slightest interest in procreating. So, I guess I wouldn’t be a’ breeder’.

    As a florist, and at a university that included that in the curriculum, the 10% society was well represented. Because my marriage was a commuter’s version, I couldn’t date. I was ‘adopted’ by the 10% because it was hard to go out for fun without someone questioning if I was stepping out on my husband.

    Even when he came to town I got in trouble with the chancellor who didn’t realize the guy who kissed me in the restaurant was married to me. An aside.

    Why the need for labels? I could care less what people do in bed together as long as they agree and I don’t have to clean up the blood.

    My best friend and her SO have a photography studio in the attic of their home. I wondered why her business card had a very hunky male on it. Her comment? “Eye Candy is Eye Candy”. You know, she’s right. Beautiful women turn heads just as much as Beautiful men.

    I don’t get it. Maybe it’s because of my background, my friends, but I don’t think I ever had to tell anyone I was het, or hom, or bi, or transgender. I just was. My foundation bitch prefers females, and she’s the only one I know that needed a teaser bitch before breeding her…

    That’s a breeder.

    I am so rambling again…
    Mud

    • wulfmann Says:

      Now this is what I like to hear! No, we shouldn’t need labels, nor should anybody be singled out for how they conduct their personal relations (well, unless they are a Dahmar or Bundy type.) Unfortunately, our society still has a bit of growing up to do. There have been tremendous strides in the last few decades but we still have a long way to go. I like to think I, and Mud, are a bit more evolved and see people as just that…PEOPLE!
      I will have to admit I was not always so enlightened, but familiarity breeds understanding, provided one is willing to maintain an open mind. While I don’t personally engage in same-sex intimacy, I have no problem with those that do as long as it is consentual. If the law ever changes in my state to allow same-sex marraiges, I would be more than happy to perform the ceremony myself (I am a mail order minister.)
      Kudos to Mud for her enlightened thinking.

Leave a Reply

